A Party of One….

Happy Birthday to Me….

Thank you all for your birthday wishes and virtual cakes! They really made my day special!

Since both GF Guy and I had to work today, we decided to move my birthday to tomorrow. That didn’t stop me from receiving 3, count ’em, 3 gorgeous bouquets of roses, lilies, and daisies. The first bouquet was a gorgeous fountain of 2 dozen red and yellow roses.
GF Guy must have set them up when he arrived home from the theater at 12:30 last night. (I was already asleep.) They were the first thing to great me as I stumbled out of bed.
Good start to the day? Check!
The second bouquet was delivered to me at work around 3:00 PM. This bouquet was from my amazing parents. Two dozen yellow roses
tethering a brightly colored Happy Birthday balloon in place
were placed in my arms by a portly little man sporting coke-bottle glasses, a skin tight t-shirt, and suspenders. He loudly declared “I hope you enjoy theesh flowersh!” with the most pronounced bi-lateral lisp I have every heard. It was a glorious moment….
Entertaining respite from work? Check!
Lastly, I stumbled into my in-law’s house around 8:45 PM to pick up Dickens where I was presented with a bright and bubbly purple and white bouquet of lilies, daisies, and amaryllises.
Am I spoiled or what?
End with a bang? Check!
(sorry the lighting is so bad… I live in an apt., ’nuff said!)

Seeing as I didn’t get to eat dinner until 9:30, I inhaled the last of the Chicken and Vegetable Sick-y Soup instead of bothering to cook something new and entertaining.
Then, since it is my birthday, I made a very “Me” birthday dessert:
Pumpkin Puree and a Kinnikinnick S’moreable (Graham Cracker)
Instead of blowing out candles, I crushed the graham cracker and made a **wish**! Dickens helped me celebrate GF/DF Bachelorette style!
I’m not sure what GF Guy has planned for tomorrow. Hopefully, it will be low key. I am still feeling rather weak. Can I just tell you how proud I was of myself for making it through work today?
Hopefully, the blog will return to the world of recipes soon. For now, I am focused on getting better. Would you rather I wait to post until I have a new recipe, or would you prefer I post more frequently even if it means no recipe?
Now, I am going to curl up in bed with a book and my puppy. Good night, friends!

P.S.- Check it out! Gluten Free Gidget was featured on This Is Why You’re Thin!

15 thoughts on “A Party of One….

  1. Happy Birthday, Katrina!!! I wish you the happiest of birthdays! I'm sorry you're sick, hope you're feeling better soon. That's so cool that you were featured on that amazing blog, Bravo!!!

  2. I'm glad you had such a great birthday and hope your second go-around for it is even better!!!And personally I love the recipes but I love getting to know YOU so I like the non-recipe posts just as much. (I know … I only post recipes at muffinfixation, but I've got 2 other blogs besides!)

  3. Three bouquets, that is an amazing way to spend your birthday! Its nice to know that so many people care about you that much 🙂 Can't wait to see what GF guy has in store!

  4. Glad you had a nice birthday! Those flowers are all so pretty. Nick gets me roses all the time, but I try to hint to him that more color and different types of flowers would be nice for a change 🙂 He hasn't gotten the hint.You post whenever it's convenient for you! I don't need to see a recipe each time, but that's just me.

  5. Happy birthday! What beautiful flowers. I hope you have an enjoyable day today and that you are feeling better soon. I had a virus like that a couple of weeks ago. It really wiped me out.I always enjoy reading your posts because you have such personality.

Let's Discuss!

