Boo!….


I have been going through serious kitchen withdrawal! GF Guy and I have been so busy lately. In addition to work, we have been house hunting, celebrating birthdays, and going to see the tours of So You Think You Can Dance and In The Heights! (BTW- If you get the chance, you MUST go see In The Heights. It is phenomenal!)

Well, this morning I had had enough! I took a look in my sadly bare refrigerator, poked around my pantry, and through a little of this and a little of that into my crock pot. Then, I prayed. Well, God heard my prayers!!!!!! I arrived home half expecting to be assaulted by the stench of burnt beans. Instead, my skeptical shnoze was greeted by the comforting aroma of fall flavors. GF Guy and I finally had a home cooked meal that wasn’t a charity meal provided by my mother in-law! (Who is wonderful, by the way!)
I am posting this recipe as my contribution to the What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free blog carnival.

Without further ado, the recipe….

Halloween-y Pumpkin Bean-y Soup



Ingredients:

– Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 yellow Onion, chopped
– 4 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1 (28oz.) can Peeled Whole Roma Tomatoes, chopped
– 2 cups Dried Black Beans (soaked overnight or cooked with the “fast cook method”)
– 1 (15oz.) can Pumpkin Puree
– 4 cups Low Sodium, Vegetable Stock
– 1/4 cup Coconut Oil
– 1/4 cup White Wine (not dry; I used a Riesling)
– 2 teaspoons Cumin
– 1 teaspoon Chili Powder
– pinch of Salt
– a few grinds of Black Pepper

Drizzle crock pot with Extra Virgin Olive Oil.
Place ingredients in the crock pot in the order listed.
Cook on low for 10 – 10.5 hours. (I didn’t plan ahead enough to soak my beans overnight. Instead I used the “fast cook method”. This is probably why I got away with cooking the soup for so long.)
Puree to desired consistency using an immersion blender.
Garnish with Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream. Enjoy!

PS- Don’t forget to vote for me to become the next SAM-e Good Mood Blogger!

7 thoughts on “Boo!….

  1. In to the Heights is unreal — I was speechless after seeing it! talk about great effects!! Have you ever seen Young Frankenstein?! another one of my favs!

Let's Discuss!

