Makin’ a "Pest"o Out of Myself…

I have this problem. I buy certain foods with full intentions of using them to make all sorts of delicious sounding and unusual recipes. Then, inevitably, I end up never making the recipes I intended. The food items either go to waste or smother me with guilt every time I look at them pitifully sitting on my pantry shelf.
My current nemesis…

A GIANT Florida Avocado! This bad boy was easily the size of at least 2 Hass Avocados. Tita brought it over last Sunday and it ripened throughout the week. Yesterday morning, I put it in the refrigerator to slow its ripening process a bit. It was becoming evident that I would have to “use it or lose it”, if you know what I mean. I decided to use it!

The picture is awful, but the taste is utter bliss!

Avocado Pesto



Ingredients:

– 1/2 Avocado, diced
– 1/4 cup of a mixture of fresh Italian Parsley and Basil Leaves (or one or the other)
– 1 tablespoon Chives, chopped
– 2 tablespoons Nutritional Yeast Flakes (or Vegan Parm)
– 1 clove Garlic, minced
– 1/2 teaspoon Herbamare
– freshly ground Black Pepper (about 1/4 teaspoon)
– 1/3 cup Hot Water (may use more or less)
– 1 teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Combine Avocado, Herbs, Nutritional Yeast, Garlic, Salt and Pepper, Oil, and 1/4 cup of the Hot Water in a food processor.
Process until smooth, adding more water if needed.

GF Guy and I enjoyed our pesto over pasta with leftover Turkey and Spinach Meatballs. Delish!
I was honestly surprised this pesto turned out so well. The smooth, creamy texture was so rich and flavorful and not at all oily or greasy. I bet it would be killer over Spaghetti Squash!

This week I was given the opportunity to donate a gift basket to a silent auction, which means I have been baking non-stop in all my “free time”. Here is the finished product, chock full of all sorts of gluten and dairy free goodies!

– Harvest Muffins (Pumpkin, Corn)
Monkey Muffins (Almond Butter, Banana, Chocolate Chip)
– Berries N’ Cream Muffins (Blueberries, Tofutti Sour Cream)
– Banana Bread
Cranberry Nut Bread

I have also been busy creating new meals and recreating old ones to suit certain dietary needs. I am particularly proud of this little beauty:

Broccoli and Rice Casserole (Gluten Free, Corn Free, Vegan, Low Sodium)


I figured out how to make Gluten Free, Vegan Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup in order to make this recipe! Do you know why this excites me so much? Because now I can make my favorite childhood casserole recipes!!!!!!!!!!! Get ready for some seriously nostalgic meals in the weeks to come. Comfort food at its finest!

Well, I should probably get some rest. I haven’t stopped buzzing around since last Saturday! Sleep is seriously needed! Good night!

19 thoughts on “Makin’ a "Pest"o Out of Myself…

  1. oh god I am the QUEEN of impulse shopping and letting things go to waste.. my mommy hates it 🙂 ummmm so im going to have to agree with the consensus.. pesto = amazing!

  2. Oh my word, I've got the same illness of buying food and then not using it. I think i've got wasabi powder (which I used once but the husband hates it), braggs flavouring, miso soup, and many more that are just sitting on my shelf and probably won't get used. Not good when trying to tighten the food budget. Oh well! Looking forward to your blog carnival. I'm hosting the next one so if you've got any tips or suggestions then please, please, please share them :)Sarah xxx

  3. Wait…VEGAN broccoli cheese casserole? What kind of cheese did you use? It actually looks cheesy in the picture. I've made homemade gluten-free mushroom soup before in order to make this dish for Thanksgiving, but it wasn't dairy-free. I'm intrigued!

Let's Discuss!

