I Cheated…


I admit it! I cheated! I just wanted it so badly, but was too tired to do it the proper way. So… I cheated. I admit it. I did the unthinkable….

I used frozen English Muffins to make Garlic Bread!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, even I, the “over achieving 1950’s mom wanna be”, in a moment of weakness, used a frozen, pre-made bread product, and guess what! I LIKED it! HA!

You know those evenings. You arrive home after a long day of work too exhausted to take your shoes off, much less cook a meal for yourself. Then you look over at the hungry faces of your family members (aka GF Guy) and know you must create a mini kitchen miracle that somehow resembles a meal. The catch? It must take less than 15 minutes to prepare or you will fall asleep in your plate!

My quick, go to meal is Tinkyada pasta topped with steamed veggies, Bove’s Marinara Sauce, and a little Nutritional Yeast (GF Guy uses parm) and served with a side of whatever bread we have on hand.

I began preparing the aforementioned meal until I made a startling discovery. We were completely out of homemade GF bread! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I desperately swung open the freezer door, peered inside, and began rooting around. That’s when I found it, a bag of Kinnikinnick English Muffins. Eureka! I defrosted two, cut them in thirds, added a little of this and a little of that, and popped them in the oven. The resulting “Garlic Bread” was the perfect side for our 15 minute feast!

15 Minutes to Garlic Bread


Ingredients:
– 2 Kinnikinnick English Muffins, defrosted and sliced into thirds
– GF, dairy free margarine
– Basil
– Oregano
– Garlic Powder
– Nutritional Yeast Flakes (for a “cheesy” flavor)- optional
– Foil

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
Spread margarine on all sides of muffin slices.
Sprinkle with spices and nutritional yeast.
Place slices back together and wrap in foil.
Place in oven and allow to heat until warm.

There you have it! All that’s left to do is eat and leave the dishes for GF Guy (or whomever) to clean while you go take a hot shower! Perfection! πŸ˜‰

This post is linked to the Holiday Food Fest hosted by Amy at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free.

17 thoughts on “I Cheated…

  1. No way girl, that's not cheating! That's called being simply smart! Using go-to's in a pinch is what makes a true cook. πŸ™‚ Everything looks incredible, even it it was a little semi-homemade. πŸ™‚

  2. It took me a bit to stop looking at that puppy picture and read your post! I haven't tried Kinnikinnick's English muffins, but I bet I can find them at Giant. Thanks for the idea.

  3. Love it, you are a magician! I always cheat AND feel terrible about it. What's up with us over-achievers? HA!? Speaking of that I'm mad cause I can't remember if that's how you spell achiever. Hmm :)Jessie at Blog Schmog

Let's Discuss!

