Childhood Memories…

Until recently, I had not discovered the many joys of Coconut Milk. Like many, I shunned it due to the Saturated Fat content. (…which I now know is metabolized differently than regular saturated fat, because coconut fat is a medium-chain fatty acid.) Why, oh why did I ever shun you, Coconut Milk?
Turtle Mountain has a line of Coconut Milk products that include, Ice Cream (think GF/DF Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, people!), Yogurt, Kefir, Refrigerated Milk and flavored Milks, and Ice Cream Novelties. So far, I have had the pleasure of trying the Coconut Milk Kefir and Unsweetened Coconut Milk. Both have been spectacular. BUT… I have found a new favorite Turtle Mountain product…..


Coconut Almond Minis!!!!!!


These little gems of perfection on a stick remind me of the ice cream bars I used to eat with my dad. He called them “Brown Cows”, though I’m not sure if that was the technical name.

Either way, I had a moment of nostalgia as I used my teeth to delicately crack off the exterior shell before licking the decadent coconut ice cream interior. Then, the taste began to register. FORGET ABOUT THOSE “BROWN COWS”! THESE COCONUT ALMOND MINIS ARE THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!! Sweet without being too sweet, decadent without being too heavy, and just the right size. I can not recommend these enough! Thank you Turtle Mountain. You continue to amaze me with you brilliance! I can not wait to try the Coconut Milk Yogurt.

Everyone:
Don’t forget to submit your Dinner With Disney entries. These are due by the 27th, so get in that kitchen and create some Disney Magic!
-AND-
Don’t forget to submit your articles/recipes/product review, etc… for the Gluten Free Blog Carnival. Follow this link to the submission form. Entries for the GF Lifestyle Blog Carnival are due by the 28th.

10 thoughts on “Childhood Memories…

  1. I just had those for the first time recently! I've told everyone I know about them and no one can believe they are vegan! 🙂 I felt the same way, they brought me back to childhood!

  2. nommmm reminds me of the countless summer days I spent chasing after the ice cream man in pursuit of a cookiewich! coconut is still a major hurdle i'm trying to conquer.. blech! love to you GFG! xo

  3. CONFESSION:Whilst these delights are harmless when consumed one at a time… I feel compelled to eat the entire box in one sitting. I LOVE It when grocers sell them individually however… I find it too embarrassing to eat one and then go back in to buy another 2 mins later…

Let's Discuss!

