One of Those Days…

Today started off as one of those days. You know the kind I mean. The kind of day when your Vegan Banana Bread sinks in the middle…


The kind of day when you realize you are out of Raw Almond Milk after you pour yourself a big bowl of cereal.

The kind of day when you are mocked by a vegetable…

That’s right, folks… I had an Eggplant stick it’s tongue out at me!
You would think after a morning of kitchen mishaps I would be steering clear of such a rude vegetable. Well guess again! I took that curly little tongue as a challenge! I was determined to show that little guy who was boss in this kitchen! Unfortunately, I had never cooked Eggplant. I decided to try two simple methods of cooking. The first, sauteing.

I sliced the Eggplant into 1/4″ thick rounds. Then, I laid the rounds on paper towels, lightly salted them, and let them sit for 30 minutes to draw out the moisture.
After, drying off the rounds, I whisked together a little Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Thyme, Rosemary, and Sage, and lightly painted the Eggplant rounds with the mixture. Next, I heated a small skillet over medium-high heat and sauteed the Eggplant about 3 minutes on each side, until browned.

I then sliced the Eggplant and built a salad that would have made any “Veg-Head” proud:

– Romaine Lettuce
– Raw Corn
– Carrots
– Tomato
– Sauteed Eggplant
– Kalamata Olives
– Balsamic Vinegar
YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I TOTALLY SCHOOLED THAT EGGPLANT!

Tune in next time for Eggplant; Episode 2!

8 thoughts on “One of Those Days…

Let's Discuss!

