Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner…

At least once a week, I like to try a new recipe from one of the blogs to which I subscribe. As I said in my Life, In General post, it was these amazing bloggers who taught me how to cook and gave me the courage to begin experimenting on my own. Inevitably, I change one or two ingredients. But, I want to give credit to the amazing people who continue to inspire me with their culinary creations. Last week, I tackled a Manly Beef Stew by the incomparable Karina of Karina’s Kitchen. This week, my inspirational gluten free blogger angels are Ali and Tom of Whole Life Nutrition . Ali and Tom are a dynamic duo offering endless kitchen inspiration and wisdom. Their recipes are simple, accessible, and delicious!

This was another one of those recipe that took me out of my “veggie” comfort zone. GF Guy had to listen to a lot of squealing about “the poor baby chicken” and “it’s little arms and legs”. I kept apologizing to the chicken as i prepped it for cooking!
Though the meal preparation was a bit dramatic, the end result was worth it.

Balsamic Roasted Chicken With Figs and Sweet Onions

My culinary contributions included Golden Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Wilted Spinach, Steamed Broccoli, and Golden Corn Muffins. (That’s a whole lot of Gold! hahaha)


Golden Garlic Mashed Potatoes


Ingredients:

– 6-7 Yukon Gold Potatoes, peeled, halved, and boiled
– 1/2 – 3/4 cup Almond Milk, warm
– 2 tablespoons Butter Substitute
– 2 tablespoons Tofutti Better N’ Sour Cream
– 1/2 teaspoon Herbamare
– 1/2 teaspoon Salt
– 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground Black Pepper
– 1/4 teaspoon Garlic Powder

Warm mixing bowl and paddle attachment with hot water. Dry bowl and attachment.
Using a paddle attachment on your stand mixer, mix potatoes on speed 2 about 1 minute.
Add other ingredients. Blend on speed 4 until almond milk is absorbed, about 30 seconds.
Increase mixing speed to 6 and mix until smooth, about 1 minute.
Change to the whisk attachment. Whisk on speed 10 until fluffy, 1-2 minutes.

To say that GF Guy LOVED the meal is an understatement. He piled his plate high, went back for seconds, and has been rubbing his belly for a good hour! Thanks, Ali and Tom, for being this weeks’ inspiration!

Now… You asked for it…..

DAILY DOSE OF DICKENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dickens has become increasingly curious about his surroundings.

Playtime is his favorite time of day.

And, he is growing into quite the handsome young man!

Rescuing Dickens through the organization Lost Angels was one of the best decisions GF Guy and I have ever made. He is our little baby and we love him!

I hope you all had a wonderful, restful weekend. I will see you again on Monday!

8 thoughts on “Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner…

  1. Chicken, mashed potatoes, and broccoli has been one of my favorite meals since childhood. Yours looks delicious and I love the addition of garlic to the potatoes.Dickens is adorable. I'm sure he's very happy in your home. Our dogs are my babies too.

Let's Discuss!

