It’s Ap"PEAR"ent…

This morning I was awoken, after only 6 hours of sleep, by a recipe idea. It was screaming at me to wake up and get my booty in the kitchen. I tried arguing, “but it’s Labor Day. Let me sleep past 7 AM, please!” but my struggles were in vain. Coffee must wait. There was baking to be done! I rolled out of bed, careful not to disturb GF Guy, and stumbled into the kitchen, eyes half shut, hair standing on end. Dickens cocked his head to the side, as if to say “What are you up to now?”, then rolled over and went back to sleep. I was alone, save the little chef in my head.

Mixing bowls, whisks, and pans soon cluttered the counter. Vying for space were spices and flours. In the midst of this chaos, a well orchestrated recipe began coming together. Like a symphony whose random notes somehow come together to form a harmonious masterpiece, the random ingredients merged to form something beautiful, something simple, and something uniquely comforting… a batter. The familiar feel of my cooking utensils, the comforting smell of spices, these are the things that draw me to the kitchen. There is safety in this little corner of my world. I know what will happen when flour and eggs combine. Yes, cooking can be a bit of a labor, but it is a labor of love. This Labor Day, I hope you are surrounded by love. There is nothing better.

It’s Ap”PEAR”ently Love Muffins


Ingredients:
– 1 cup Gluten Free Baking Mix
– 1 cup Almond Meal
– 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
– 1/4 teaspoon Salt

– 3 Eggs, beaten until frothy
– 1/2 cup Oil
– 3/4 cup Pear Puree* (recipe follows)
– 1/2 cup packed light Brown Sugar
– 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
– 1 1/2 teaspoons Cinnamon
– 1/2 teaspoon ground Ginger
– 1/4 teaspoon ground Cloves
– 1/4 teaspoon ground Nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
In a large bowl, whisk together wet ingredients.
Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Stir, using a wooden spoon or spatula, until incorporated.
Pour into prepared, lined muffin tins.
Bake at 350 degrees about 20 minutes, until golden.
Allow to cool on a wire rack.
Enjoy your labor of love!

*Pear Puree

– 2 Red Pears
– 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Juice

Core and chop pears.
Place in a blender or food processor along with the lemon juice.
Process until smooth.

11 thoughts on “It’s Ap"PEAR"ent…

  1. ah is this the first unveiling of your new layout? I am in love! It's very organized and profesh :)loveeeee the idea of pear muffins .. i never would've thought! then again, I think we both can agree that you are much more creative in the kitchen than I. Happy Labor day girlie!

  2. Hey, love the new layout/color scheme, very pretty, it totally fits you! Those pear muffins sound absolutely delicious! I have been eating pears like crazy here lately and those sound really good! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. The blog looks awesome!!! And the muffins look pretty delish as well! My sister in law was here this weekend, and I meant to ask you for some GF advice, but I was running around like a crazy person and forgot. Next time I'll have to make some of your muffins for her!

  4. Love the new look! :)Everytime I come to your blog I want to make muffins!!! 🙂 I seriously need to get on it!!Thank you so much for the kind words you left me on my blog. It is so nice to know that there are so many wonderful people, like yourself, out there! HUGS!

Let's Discuss!

