Honey Baked… Lentils?…

I had plans to made roasted vegetable salads for dinner tonight. The, 6:00 hit and I no longer felt like going to the grocery store. Does that happen to any of you. You make grand plans for dinner. Then the late afternoon slump hits and all those plans go flying out the window. Instead, I scoured the pantry and internet and came up with another Katrina Classic! You all know I LOVE being able to make up a new recipe using only the ingredients I have on hand. It’s like an ultimate Iron Chef moment for me! I know, I know… I’m a dork. But you love me anyway! My inspiration for this recipe was a classic Honey Baked Ham recipe, one of my husbands’ favorite things. After eating this, I think he may have forgotten all about ham! This recipe is super inexpensive, super delicious, and super easy. The leftovers are even better. I can’t wait to eat them for lunch today! Enjoy!

Honey Baked Lentils


Ingredients:

– 1/2 pound dried Lentils
– 1 1/4 cups Water
– 1 1/4 cups Low Sodium, Organic Chicken Stock (can use all water to make this vegan, just add a bit of salt)
– 1 Bay Leaf

– 1/2 Yellow Onion, diced
– 1 clove Garlic, minced
– 1 stalk Celery, chopped
– 1 Carrot, chopped
– 1/4 teaspoon Ginger
– 1/2 teaspoon Dried Mustard
– 1/2 cup Water
– 1 tablespoon Bragg Liquid Aminos
– 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1/4 cup Agave Nectar (I didn’t have any honey)
– 1/4 cup Orange Juice

Place Lentils, Water, Stock, and Bay Leaf in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 30 minutes.
Once Lentils are cooked remove the Bay Leaf.

In a bowl, combine remaining ingredients.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Pour cooked Lentils into a glass loaf pan.
Pour remaining ingredients on top of the Lentils and stir to combine.

Cover pan with foil.

Bake, tightly covered, at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

We enjoyed our Honey Baked Lentils over brown rice and steamed broccoli and spinach. I plan on eating the leftovers in a salad today! (SUPER EXCITED!)

In other news:
Dickens is being a little dickens lately!
He will not listen lately. Maybe he is getting too comfortable. Today, GF Guy and I both work 10 hour days. We are taking him to Tita’s house so he won’t be alone all day. We’ll see how he does, and how she does! Tita loves to spoil dogs with Cuban Crackers and Pup-peroni. As you know, Dickens is on a completely Gluten Free diet. Crackers and Pup-peroni are not on his meal plan! Here’s hoping they both survive! πŸ™‚

Also, this is how my morning started…
1) Make coffee.
2) Pour coffee.
3) Decide to make my coffee extra special.
4) Remember the unsweetened Chocolate Almond Milk in the frige.
5) Open frige, shake Almond Milk.
6) Discover Almond Milk lid was not shut properly…
7) CRUD…..
8) ……………..
9) Drink mocha coffee.

Questions:

Do you guys like my new approach to the blog? What would you like to see more of?

14 thoughts on “Honey Baked… Lentils?…

  1. I love to follow your blog! I say make it however you like it to be πŸ™‚ Anything you post is always interesting!I made your chicken in a pot no pie..and it was delicious! If you could somehow categorize your recipes that would be great. I had to scroll through many post to try to go back and find it! If this exists on the blog already, please let me know!Diana

  2. girrrrrrrrrrrlfiend as long as the recipes and foodgasmic pics keep a'comin i lurveee your blog! the only thing i could ask to see more of is prob. your pretty face πŸ™‚

  3. This looks really good to me right now, especially with the broccoli. My family doesn't like lentils too much, but I serve them occasionally anyway. I've never made them with a sweetener–that might make a difference. I'll have to try this and see what they think. Thanks!

  4. Your lentils look yummy. I need to make more lentils! They're so good leftover for my lunch too. My doggies are on a gluten-free diet as well! Have been ever since I adopted them. It started when I had a cat that was sickly until I stopped buying the cheap-o cat food and started looking at the better brands and comparing ingredient lists…the good stuff, the stuff that makes the cat (and now dogs) feel better is the stuff that has meat as the first ingredient, and no wheat! So, gluten-free pet food, it was. And this was even way before I went gluten-free, lol!

  5. Pingback: Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken | glutenfreegidget

Let's Discuss!

