A New Direction…

Hello everyone! I know it’s been a while since my last post. I needed some time to decompress and simply “be” with my husband. Lately, I have been in limbo with my blog. Does anyone really want to see the leftovers I eat so often? You have already seen it once. Why would you need to see it again? I am not ending Gluten Free Gidget. I am refining it! From now on, Gluten Free Gidget will be a blog devoted to recipes, product reviews, and restaurant finds. I find myself becoming more and more creative and daring in the kitchen. I welcome any challenges you, my readers, are willing to throw at me. Let’s see just how innovative we can be! Katrina’s Kitchen is open and ready for business! Thank you for sticking with me through the many mutations Gluten Free Gidget has undergone. I hope we can continue to grow together.
Now for the recipes and recent kitchen creations!

This morning, I tried a new (for me) Multi-Grain Sandwich Bread recipe from The Gluten Free Goddess herself, Karina.

I can not even begin to tell you how perfectly scrumptious this recipe is. I didn’t have any Sesame or Hemp Seeds on hand, so these ingredients were eliminated. I baked my loaf in a Breadman Bread Machine on the Gluten Free Setting. After the mix cycle, I removed the mixing paddle. I also cooked the loaf for an additional 10 minutes. After cooling the loaf, I eagerly cut a thick slice to enjoy with leftover White Bean and Kale Soup. Each bite was a little bit of heaven. The crusty exterior of the loaf was the perfect foil for the soft, springy interior. The texture was perfection and the hearty taste…. Many gluten free breads taste overly sweet and starchy, not so with this Multi-Grain Sandwich Bread! This recipe is definitely one for the vault!
Next on the menu was a new hummus recipe for GF Guy. He has been going through withdrawal, so he claims. This recipe yields a smooth, creamy hummus with a sweet tang and a little something you can’t quite put your finger on. Despite the complexity of taste, the recipe is remarkably simple. Enjoy!

Balsamic Hummus

Ingredients:

– 1 15oz. can Chickpeas
– 1/4 cup reserved Chickpea liquid
– 3 tablespoons Lemon Juice
– 2 tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
– 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 monster Garlic Clove, or 2 regular, crushed
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Tahini
– 1/2 teaspoon Salt

Combine ingredients in a food processor for 3-5 minutes, until creamy and well blended.
I prefer to chill the hummus before serving with carrot sticks.

Up next…. Socca It To Me Pizza!

5 thoughts on “A New Direction…

  1. Oh wow, that bread looks amazing!! Much better than anything you can buy! Too bad I don't have a bread machine! Maybe someday I'll get one and start making my own GF bread. And that balsamic hummus, I've got to try since balsamic seems to be my go to dressing for everything these days, what a great idea!

  2. Yea for the new direction! I’m still trying to find my blogger groove.Your bread looks great. It’s encouraging to see it turn out well b/c I sometimes have a lot of trouble baking gluten-free.

Let's Discuss!

