And The Winner Is…

It is that time again! Time to announce the winner of the Oikos Yogurt Giveaway
after these announcements!
This morning started with a little time with the teacher, Julia Child. I ate the apple though. I don’t give up my fruit easily! I also had a Comfort Muffin. Then the gym was calling my name. I pounded out 13 sweaty miles on the stationary bike, did a bit of Hill Walking on the treadmill, and totally rocked a Jillian Michaels ab circuit. Love it!
Lunch was my new favorite, Spicy Kale Salad with a side of Baby Carrots.
Snack = another Comfort Muffin
Dinner…… I was in the mood for something new.

Rustic Kale and White Bean Soup
from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen The only change I made was using dry beans instead of canned.

Dairy Free Sour Cream Cornbread with a Twist


Ingredients:

– 3/4 cup Yellow Cornmeal
– 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Biscuit and Baking Mix
– 2 1/2 tablespoons Sugar
– 2 Eggs, beaten
– 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
– 1 teaspoon Cream of Tarter
– 3/4 teaspoon Salt
– 2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon Oil
– 1 cup Tofutti Better N’ Sour Cream with Guacamole
– 5 tablespoons Water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Whisk together dry ingredients.
Add wet ingredients to dry and beat thoroughly.
Pour batter into a greased 9×5 loaf pan.
Bake 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
Cool in pan 10 minutes, then on a wire rack before slicing.

GF Guy and I were both pleasantly surprised by this recipe. Firstly, we were surprised it actually turned out. Secondly, we were surprised by just how moist and yummy the cornbread was. GF Guy ate half the loaf himself! This is a real winner of a recipe!

Dessert called for a new dairy free ice cream creation. I appreciate the suggestions from some of you fabulous readers. However, my flavor choice was decided when Tita sent home 2 super ripe mangoes from her backyard mango tree. This recipe is another Katrina Kitchen Creation in the Cuisinart!

Mango Coconut Ice Cream

Ingredients:

– 2 cans Coconut Milk
– 3/4 cups Sugar
– 2 ripe Mangoes, peeled and diced
– 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
– 1 teaspoon Almond Extract
– 1 tablespoon Lime Juice
– 1/4 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
– 1/2 cup Coconut, shredded

In a blender, puree 3/4 of the Mango pieces, coconut milk, sugar, extracts, xanthum gum, and lime juice.
Place blender canister in the freezer for one hour. In a separate container, store remaining mango pieces in the freezer.
After one hour, pulse ice cream mixture in the blender, then pour into ice cream machine.
Process about 20 minutes.
Add frozen mango pieces and coconut. Process 5 minutes.
Transfer to a freezer safe container and allow to harden to desired consistency.
Enjoy your tropical vacation in a cup or cone!

Now for the winner…

Congratulations to Arwen!

Arwen said…

My favorite would be to have it with loads of fresh fruit topped with granola. Perfect summer breakfast!

Email me with your mailing address to receive your prize! To the rest of you, follow this link for Stoneyfield Farm product E-coupons!

I leave you with your daily dose of Dickens. AWWW!!!! I have the cutest boys!

9 thoughts on “And The Winner Is…

  1. that cornbread sounds & looks delicious! Amazing that you can get it so moist without dairy- I must try it. Your boys ARE adorable. They look very comfy ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. ah cornbread, my fav!! I only have it once a year on halloween (when mommabear makes chili and cornbread) *sigh* counting down the days until october 31st now! congrats to the lucky winner ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. How do you find the time to do so much heavenly cooking and baking? That kale soup sounds am-a-zing. I could eat kale and chard all day, every day. They can do no wrong in my book.Love the photo of your two boys. I think Dickens likes you two.

  4. Wow, that cornbread looks really good!! But then again, everything you bake looks really good, you're my GF baking hero! ๐Ÿ™‚ And the mango coconut ice cream looks absolutely delicious! How awesome that you had fresh mangoes to go in! I'm so jealous!

Let's Discuss!

