Lots of Newness…

Today has been a day of experimentation in the Gidget kitchen.
Since cutting dairy from my diet, I have been creating all sorts of delicious new recipes and combos. It’s funny how eliminating foods ends up expanding my culinary horizons!
Breakfast was rather sporadic. My appetite didn’t really show up until 3:00 PM. I ate a Comfort Muffin
before strength training and an Organic Pear around 11:00.

After my snack, it became a-pear-ent (get it?) that I needed to play in the kitchen. I saved the Almond “Pulp” leftover from making my last batch of Raw Almond Milk and was determined to do something with it. Throwing out all that almond-y goodness was just not an option. The resulting recipe was something I am quite proud to have created!

Mini Banana Almond Cakes

Ingredients:

– 1 cup Almond “Pulp”, packed
– 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons Brown Rice Flour
– 1/4 cup Potato Starch
– 1/2 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
– 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
– 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
– 1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
– 1/4 teaspoon Ginger
– 1/8 teaspoon Ground Cloves
– 3 small, ripe Bananas
– 1/4 cup Amber Agave Nectar
– 2 tablespoons Oil
– 2 large, organic Eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, combine almond “pulp”, brown rice flour, potato starch, xanthum gum, baking soda, and spices.
In a blender, combine bananas, agave nectar, oil, and eggs.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just blended.
Spoon into a prepared, lined muffin tin.
Bake at 350 degrees for 20-21 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.
Allow to cool on a wire rack before icing or enjoying as is.

These muffins/cupcakes would be delightful with a light Cream Cheese style icing. In fact, they reminded me of a recipe I once made from Karina’s blog. (Completely unintentional of course, but yummy none the less!)

GF Guy and I split one of these after lunch. We both like them, as these cakes are not overly sweet and are rather light.

Lunch was a lovely, light salad of Romaine Lettuce, 1/2 an organic Roma Tomato, Carrots, Celery, leftover Scallops, and Balsamic Vinegar.

However delicious lunch was, I was STARVING by 3:00! I inhaled a bowl of Gluten Free Corn Flakes and Raw Almond Milk
then rolled around on the floor with Dickens for the better part of an hour.

Dinner was another creation a la moi. I am pretty darn proud of this one as well! Mostly, I am impressed I didn’t have to run to the grocery store for anything! 🙂 The meal did taste pretty flippin’ fantastic, if I do say so myself!

Spicy Thai Green Curry


Ingredients:

– 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 yellow Onion, chopped
– 2 Scallions, sliced; white part only
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 3 tablespoons Thai Green Curry Paste
– 1 can light Coconut Milk
– 1 can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
– 2 tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
– 1 1/2 tablespoons dried Basil
– 1 can Petite Diced Tomatoes
– 1 tablespoon Amber Agave Nectar
– juice of half a Lemon (about 1 tablespoon)
– 2-3 handfuls fresh Spinach
– 1 cup frozen Broccoli, defrosted
– 1 cup frozen Peas, defrosted

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
Saute onions and scallions until lightly browned.
Add garlic and green curry paste. Cook until garlic is soft and curry paste is dissolved.
Add coconut milk, chickpeas, and Braggs.
Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.
Add basil, tomatoes, agave nectar, lemon juice, and spinach. Simmer 15 minutes.
Add broccoli and peas. Simmer until heated through, about 5 minutes.
Serve on a bed of Quinoa.

Be aware! This is a spicy curry. You may want to use less Green Curry Paste. GF Guy and I LOVED this dish! Having never cooked a spicy Thai dish, I was a little nervous. That nervousness only made the smell of success even sweeter! I’m going to bring some of the leftovers over to my parents house. My dad will LOVE it. He is a sucker for spicy Thai food. I don’t even think he will notice that it’s vegan! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did.

Dessert was no less delightful. It was the flavor of the week, Cookies N’ Dream Ice Cream! Perfection in a little glass bowl!

I hope everyone had a delightful Monday. The start of a new week is always so full of promise! I can’t wait to see what the rest of the week brings!

Don’t forget to enter my Oikos Yogurt Giveaway! It ends Friday, so don’t miss your chance!
Also, check out An Apple A Day’s raw food giveaway.

11 thoughts on “Lots of Newness…

  1. Wow, those mini cakes look TDF, what a great way to use up your almond pulp. I feel the same way about going gluten free, it has made me step outside my food bubble and try so many new things, I never would have!LOVE the pic of Dickens playing, he is adorable!

  2. Yummy food, and what a cute lil doggie! I just realized now that a few weeks ago, you asked me about acai berries and digestion, and I forgot to answer but unfortunately I don't know a lot about acai. I will do some reading online, there is tons of info about it, and if I find anything I will send it your way! p.s. fresh cabbage juice is very healing to the whole GI tract.

Let's Discuss!

