Next Time Bring Money…

Hola mi amigos! I hope everyone is having an absolutely lovely day. I know I have! I will do a quick recap of yesterday’s eats before delving into my day thus far.
Breakfast: Gluten Free Corn Flakes and Almond Milk

Lunch: Salad of Romaine Lettuce, Spinach, Carrots, Celery, Asparagus, Peach and Mango Salsa, and Black Beans

Dinner: Tinkyada Brown Rice Fettucini Noodles topped with Brussel Sprouts, Leftover Green Beans, Spinach, Peas, Marinara Sauce, and Nutritional Yeast

Dessert: GF Guy and I split a Peanut Butter Chip Monkey Muffin (These are seriously the BEST muffins I have ever made… at least according to GF Guy!)

and the last few bites of Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream (sniff)

I plan on making gluten free, dairy free Cookies N’ Cream Ice Cream next week! GF Guy is unbelievably excited. It is his favorite ice cream flavor. The things I do to keep that man happy… (LE SIGH…) 😉
We were all pretty tire last night. Even Dickens fell asleep during the So You Think You Can Dance finale. (Which was awesome, by the way!)

Now on to today….
Friday’s are my Saturday, since I work all day on Saturdays. In celebration of the “weekend”, I slept until 8:00 ate a bowl of Gluten Free Corn Flakes with Raw Almond Milk,

then drove out to my older sister’s house to help her prep for a party she is hosting tomorrow. She lives way out in the country. I drove past farm stand after farm stand and wanted to stop sooo badly. Alas, I didn’t have any cash with me. Lesson learned… Next time, bring money! When I arrived, my sister surprised me with a hand sewn creation made just for me….

Isn’t it the cutest retro apron ever?! I didn’t take it off the entire afternoon. My sister is gluten free and so is the person she is hosting the party for. I helped her bake a batch of my Blueberry Scones. Here they are fresh out of the oven, cooling before slicing.

While the scones cooled, we each made our respective gluten free lunches. Mine was a bowl of Stir-Fry Veggies, Spinach, and Tomatoes topped with a little Garlic, Pepper, and Balsamic Vinegar.

My sister’s bowl consisted of DeBole’s Rice Pasta and Chopped Tomatoes with a sauce of Garlic, Butter, Balsamic Vinegar, and Black Pepper.

It was fun to catch up over lunch, but there was decorating to be done! The party she is hosting is a tea party. We used an eclectic mix of tea cups, pots, and china to decorate.

Isn’t it cute? I hope the guest of honor enjoys it!
I left around 2:45 and arrived home at 4:00 STARVING! My little bowl of veggies were yummy, but not very filling. I inhaled a second bowl of Gluten Free Corn Flakes and Almond Milk
(yes, I recycled my breakfast picture)
and a few sticks of Celery dipped in Peach and Mango Salsa

and felt much better. Just as a finished up in the kitchen, GF Guy and Dickens arrived home from the pet store with a new toy. We have been playing “Kong” all evening! Pictures to come…
Now, on to a new recipe! I am posting this specifically for Heather. This particular recipe is one I hold near and dear to my heart. When I was little, my dad made a version of these muffins 3 times a week. He ate them every day for breakfast. Their simplicity of flavor and preparation caused them to become a favorite of mine. When I became Gluten Free and Dairy Free, I adapted my dad’s recipe to suit my new diet. The taste is slightly different, but nostalgic none the less. I hope you find these muffins as comforting as I do.

Comfort Muffins


Ingredients:

– 2 1/4 cups Quinoa Flakes
– 1/4 cup Chopped Walnuts
– 1/4 cup Raisins
– 1/4 cup Light Brown Sugar
– 1 tablespoon Baking Powder
– 1 1/4 cups Almond Milk
– 2 Egg Whites
– 2 tablespoons Oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Fill a muffin tin with liners.
Combine Quinoa Flakes, walnuts, raisins, brown sugar, and baking powder in a bowl.
In a separate bowl, combine Almond Milk, egg whites, and oil.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to combine.
Spoon batter into lined muffin tin.
Bake at 425 degrees for 11-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out moist but clean.
Allow to cool on a cooling rack.

These muffins must be stored in the refrigerator to maintain moistness, as they do not contain any preservatives. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Next Time Bring Money…

Let's Discuss!

