Surprise Announcement….

Hello Loves! Thank you for all your support regarding my last post. I had a much better day today. In fact, today was stupendous! After my killer run at the gym, I set to work “playing” in the kitchen. Creating new recipes is my therapy. I decided to combine all of GF Guy’s favorite things into one glorious, manly muffin recipe.

Peanut Butter Chip Monkey Muffins

Ingredients:

– 2/3 cup Sorghum Flour
– 1/3 cup Tapioca Flour
– 1/3 cup Potato Starch
– 2/3 cup Brown Rice Flour
– 1/2 cup packed Light Brown Sugar
– 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
– 1 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
– 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
– 1/2 cup Creamy Peanut Butter
– 3/4 cup Almond Milk
– 2 Eggs
– 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
– 1/3 teaspoon Cinnamon
– 1/4 teaspoon Salt
– 3 ripe Bananas, mashed
– 1/4 to 1/3 cup chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life gluten, dairy, and soy free chips)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Whisk together sorghum flour, tapioca flour, potato starch, brown rice flour, brown sugar, baking powder, xanthum gum, cinnamon, and salt.
In a separate bowl, combine all other ingredients. (except chocolate chips)
Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.
Stir until just moistened. Then add chocolate chips and gently fold in.
Spoon into 12 lined muffin cups. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes.
Allow to cool on a wire rack.

GF Guy and I split one of these gems for dessert tonight. He absolutely loved them!

My little sister and her boyfriend came over just as I was pulling the Monkey Muffins out of the oven. They both sampled, and loved, the Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream I made the other night in my handy-dandy Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. Then, we chatted it up for the better part of an hour while I ate my lunch of leftover Chicken In A Pot… No Pie, Please.
I added some extra carrots and asparagus to my bowl for some added veggie goodness. I also polished off a lovely organic Pear before heading off to work.


I met GF Guy at his parents house after my shift to be greeted by the best surprise I could ever imagine. I planned on surprising you, my readers, with this announcement, but ended up being surprised, myself!….

I am now a mother! That’s right, GF Guy and I just adopted the most adorable little boy. His name is Dickens, as in Charles Dickens. And, he is the smartest, cutest little guy I have ever met. Here is our first family photo:

Okay, okay… he’s a puppy. We found him through an organization called Lost Angels. He was abandoned by his owners and was about to be put down when Lost Angels stepped in and saved him. He is a 8 month old Papillon/Corgi mix and weighs just 6 pounds. Isn’t he the cutest?! We weren’t suppose to pick him up until tomorrow. But GF Guy picked him up early to surprise me. It worked! Look at my face!
hahahahaha

GF Guy’s mom made us dinner because she knew we would be too distracted by Dickens to properly feed ourselves. We had a lovely salad
and Chili Sorpresa.
Thanks for dinner M2!

Tonight we are just settling Dickens in to his new home. I can’t wait for my sister to meet him tomorrow! She will be coming over for dinner. I think I am just going to throw something in the crock pot and hope for the best! Goodnight everyone!

6 thoughts on “Surprise Announcement….

Let's Discuss!

