Wondrous Weekend…

Hello! I hope everyone had a lovely weekend. GF Guy and I are still waiting to hear for sure about our big surprise announcement. Hopefully, I will be able to share with you all in a few days. It will definitely be this week though. We are both super excited about it. This morning was spent running more errands in preparation for “said surprise”. Aren’t you just dying from curiosity? 😉
Saturday was spent working at the health food store. Since I have officially run out of GF oats, breakfast was a simple bowl of GF Corn Flakes with Almond Milk and a handful of fresh Blackberries.

Normally I would be hungry again a few hours after this meal. But today, I got so busy at work that I didn’t take my lunch break until 3:45! That is very unlike me. Lunch was the same as last work day, leftover Chicken In A Pot, No Pie… Please soup.

This soup really packs a nutritional punch with all the veggies and chicken.
Saturday night was Breakfast For Dinner night. Do you know what that means? GF Guy is the chef! He made me a HUGE 3 Egg Omelet stuffed with Vegan Monterey Jack Cheeze, Tomato, Asparagus, Spinach, Fresh Tarragon, Basil, Oregano, Salt and Pepper.

Watch out Food Network! GF Guy is comin’ to town!

He always sticks out his tongue when he is concentrating. HAHAHA He is so cute.
We enjoyed our “breakfast” while watching a DVD his grandmother loaned us, Captain Correlli’s Mandolin. This was not the movie to watch on a relaxing evening. I didn’t realize it was a war movie! Oh well, at least I can cross it off my list.
Today was a momentous day. It started off like any other Sunday…. Green Monster (1/2 banana, 3 strawberries, 2 handfuls of spinach, 3/4 cup raw almond milk)

Church… OH WAIT! That’s where it all changed! Today was Communion Sunday. I haven’t been able to participate in Communion since my diagnosis 2 1/2 years ago. Eating bread is kind of a no-no in my world. Well, guess what my friends! The church GF Guy and I attend serves Gluten Free Rice Crackers for those members who cannot tolerate gluten! How amazing and fortuitous is that? I was able to take Communion for the first time in 2 1/2 years. I can not begin to tell you how much it meant to me. God definitely led us to this church. The signs are everywhere.
After an amazing church service, we ran our “surprise” errands and stopped by Pop and Tita’s for lunch, per usual. This Sunday we had Rice, Black Beans, Tomato Slices, Salad, and a Platano Slice. I also “stole” the olives from GF Guys Picadillo. 🙂

Dessert was a bowl of Watermelon and Cantaloupe.


After such a filling lunch, GF Guy and I didn’t get hungry for dinner until around 10:00 PM. I know… that’s bad right? I really wanted oatmeal, but alas… no GF oats to be found. Instead, I opted to try out something new, Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal.

I don’t think I would dub it “mighty tasty”. It was just okay. I miss my Cream Hill Estates Gluten Free Oats!!!! sniff… sniff…
I cooked up a big batch so I would have some for the morning. I added cinnamon, strawberries, and a touch of Almond Milk to my dinner bowl.

The disappointment of dinner was far out shadowed by the grandeur that was dessert. Behold:
Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Ingredients:
– 2 cans Coconut Milk (full fat)
– 2 teaspoons Peppermint Extract
– 1/4 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
– 3/4 cup Sugar
– 3/4 cup gluten, dairy, and soy free Chocolate Chips (I used these:

Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips. They are perfect because they are mini chip pieces.)

Combine coconut milk, peppermint extract, xanthum gum, and sugar in a blender. Place mixture in the freezer for about 1 hour.
Briefly blend again.
Pour mixture into ice cream maker and process about 22 minutes.
Add chocolate chips to the mixture.
Continue processing about 3 minutes.
Put ice cream in a freezer safe container and allow to freeze before serving.

This is our favorite ice cream recipe to date. The smooth, creamy texture is pure perfection. It must be the Xanthum Gum. Whatever it was, this recipe is a keeper! The original recipe is from Rachel’s Recipe Box.

I have lots on my mind right now. Hopefully sleep will help me sort things out. Good night!

Giveaway: Check out this Sunshine Burger coupon giveaway.

7 thoughts on “Wondrous Weekend…

  1. that ice cream looks amazing, i cant believe that its GF! Im so happy that your church is offering GF options, I wish my church would do that aswell I know a few people who cant take communion because of gluten issues. I cant wait to hear what the suprise is! 🙂

Let's Discuss!

