Winners and Winning Recipes…

Hello and Happy Sunday! GF Guy and I had a wonderful date night on Friday. For dinner at The Columbia, we both had the 1905 Salad (mine was sans meat, cheese, and dressing) and split the Paella Valencia (I gave GF Guy all the chicken and pork and he gave me all the seafood.) The show was great fun, and I LOVED getting all dressed up! I am such a girly, girl! 🙂 I worked all day Saturday, but still managed to create 2 new recipes when I got home. (recipes found at bottom of post) Today, we went to church, Pop and Tita’s, and to see HARRY POTTER! Nerd alert! It was quite enjoyable. They did cut a lot from the book though. Oh well, we still enjoyed it! My meals (that I was able to take pictures of) were basically different combinations of oatmeal, leftovers, and cereal. I will spare you the boring details and just post a “slide show” of the food pics. I am still off dairy. So, any milk products are either coconut of almond based.

I know most of you are reading this post thinking “blah, blah, blah… get to the Green Giveaway Winner announcement!”.

So, here it is: GF Guy randomly chose the winner by pulling a random number. The winner: Elizabeth Wilkinson King! Email me with you mailing address. I am sure you will love reading Sleeping Naked is Green just as much as I did.

Shrimp and Pineapple Stir-fry

Ingredients:
– Stir-fry Veggie Mix (cabbage, daikon, zucchini, squash, snap peas, carrots, bell
peppers)
– 1/4 pound pre-cooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
– 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
– Cooking Spray
– 1 tablespoon Sesame Oil
– Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, to taste
– splash of Rice Wine Vinegar
– 1 teaspoon Agave Nectar
– 1/2 cup cubed fresh pineapple
– splash pineapple juice
– 1 teaspoon Ginger Powder (I was going to use fresh Ginger Root, but I forgot…
whoops!)

Spray a wok with cooking spray. Add chopped onion and saute for 2-4 minutes.
Add stir-fry veggies and sesame oil and cook over medium to medium-high heat for about 5 minutes.

Add Bragg’s, Rice Vinegar, and Agave Nectar. Cover and continue cooking for 5 minutes.
Stir in Pineapple cubes, pineapple juice, and Ginger Powder. Cook about 3 minutes.
Add Shrimp and cook just until heated through.

We ate ours over a leftover blend of rice and black eyed peas. I plan on eating the leftovers over either steamed veggies or quinoa. Yummy!

Dessert was SPECTACULAR! My picture may not look like much, but trust me. You WANT to make this! The recipe was based on one I found at Elana’s Pantry. I didn’t have the exact ingredients so a improvised with what i did have.

Roasted Banana Coconut Ice Cream

Ingredients:
– 5 Bananas, cut into 1 inch pieces
– 2 dried Figs, chopped
– 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
– 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract
– 1 can coconut milk (full fat, NOT light)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place bananas, figs, coconut oil, and vanilla extract in a casserole type dish and roast for 35-40 minutes until caramelized and fragrant.
Pour roasted bananas and coconut milk into a blender. Combine on high speed until completely smooth. (I scrubbed the roasting dish while the mixture blended away.)
Place the mixture in the freezer to cool.
Once cool, pour into an ice cream maker and process about 25 minutes.
Enjoy as soft serve or transfer to a freezer safe container and harden to the desired consistency.
GF Guy and I sprinkled ours with chopped walnuts.
This is a super rich, creamy recipe. It’s hard to believe their is no added sugar!

I hope everyone enjoys these recipes. Have a wonderful week!

5 thoughts on “Winners and Winning Recipes…

Let's Discuss!

