Weekend Wrap-Up…

Wow… I can’t believe it is already Sunday night! This weekend flew by. I worked from 12-7 on Saturday and Sunday was the usual church, Tita’s, veg.
I received a surprise Saturday morning when I arrived at our apartment gym. It was CLOSED! I forgave them though because they closed it so they could renovate it! SWEET! I hope we get new equipment. So what did this little bear do? Well, I trotted my happy little butt home and baked a practice round of gluten free, dairy free Harvest Muffins!

Don’t forget to bid for these little beauties tomorrow! They will be one of the items auctioned off at Lil Runner’s blogger bakesale to benefit Cancer Research! Oh, I almost forgot! Before attempting to hit up the gym, I ate the most amazing organic grapefruit I have ever had.

And yes, I eat my grapefruit like an orange. LOVES IT! My official breakfast was a delicious bowl of GF oats with leftover pumpkin puree, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

I was feeling a bit “harvesty” after baking the muffins! Can you tell? My lunch for work was just a boring repeat so I’m going to skip it. I arrived home from work FAMISHED as usual. GF Guy and I pulled the leftover Chili Sorpresa out of the freezer, reheated it and dove it with equal enthusiasm. I decided to test the dairy theory again and added a little dollop of FF Sour Cream to my serving which I enjoyed with a Harvest Muffin and a soft corn tortilla.

The verdict…. yep…. it’s the dairy… lesson learned… again! I am so stubborn sometimes. I don’t like food groups being taken away from me! Oh well, I will simply focus on the amazing foods I can eat versus the few things I need to avoid. Plus, I was dairy free for a year after I was first diagnosed (as a precaution), so I know most of the good dairy substitutes. (Suggestions are always welcome, though!) Dessert was a bowl brimming with luscious organic pear slices and blueberries.

Then… I promptly fell asleep on the sofa and drooled on the cushions until GF Guy moved me to the bedroom. I am soooo sexy! hahahaha
I slept for a solid 9 hours and awoke to an empty coffee canister. So, I got to thinking… (yes I can think at 7:30 AM) I really should quit coffee. I did it once before with no problems, so I can do it again. I do, however, enjoy a cup of something warm in the morning. Enter this lovely new friend of mine: Yogi Chai Green Tea

The spicy blend of cardamom and cinnamon were absolutely delicious and the perfect thing to wake up my taste buds. After showering and getting ready for church, I whipped up a couple of Green Monsters (1/2 frozen banana, frozen mango, 1/2 cup raw almond milk, 2 handfuls spinach) for the hubby and myself

and hopped out the door for a little Jesus time. Tita made a pot roast today with a side of rice and black-eyed peas. I loaded up my plate with rice and black-eyed peas, a smidgen of pot roast, tomato slices, steamed green beans, raw radishes, and sliced avocado.

Then I had a bowl of watermelon, cantaloupe, and cherries. YUM!

Now for something fun…. A NEW RECIPE!!!!
This recipe is my take on a Lebanese recipe, Malfoof Mehshi or Cabbage Cigarettes. Traditionally, its is a combination of lamb and rice rolled in cabbage leaves. I made my recipe vegan and since I didn’t have any cabbage handy, I used Green Swiss Chard. The resulting meal was a light dish, perfect for a hot summer day. Enjoy!

Chard Cigars

Ingredients:
1 bunch of Green Swiss Chard
1 cup cooked brown rice
1/2 cup dry lentils
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1 cup hot water
1/2 teaspoon salt
juice of 1 lemon
1 clove garlic, chopped

Cover dry lentils with 3 cups of water in a med-large saucepan. Bring to a low boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer until tender, about 20 minutes, with a tilted lid.
Drain cooked lentils.
Combine brown rice, lentils, pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves.
Wash Swiss Chard and remove stem, cutting an upside down “V” shape for ease of rolling. Blanch chard and lay out on towels. Allow to dry slightly.
Put a small amount of brown rice, lentil mixture in the center of each chard leaf and roll into a cigar shape. (Fold top and bottom in first, then roll in the sides)
Place Chard Cigars in a 9×13 casserole dish and top with mixture of hot water, salt, lemon juice, and garlic.
Cover dish with foil and place in an non-preheated oven. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.
Serve topped with marinara sauce.

We enjoyed our Chard Cigars with roasted vegetables and fresh tomato slices.

Swiss Chard is a super hero of the vegetable world. WHFoods.com extols the health benefits of Swiss Chard with a most impressive list:
“Both the leaves and the roots of Swiss chard have been the subject of fascinating health studies. The combination of traditional nutrients, phytonutrients (particularly anthocyans), plus fiber in this food seems particularly effective in preventing digestive tract cancers. Several research studies on chard focus specifically on colon cancer, where the incidence of precancerous lesions in animals has been found to be significantly reduced following dietary intake of Swiss chard extracts or fibers. Preliminary animal research also suggests that Swiss chard may confer a protective effect on the kidneys of those with diabetes through reducing serum urea and creatinine levels. Our rating system awards Swiss chard with excellent marks for its concentrations of vitamin K, vitamin A, vitamin C, magnesium, manganese, potassium, iron, vitamin E, and dietary fiber. Swiss chard also emerges as a very good or good source of copper, calcium, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, protein, phosphorus, vitamin B1, zinc, folate, biotin, niacin and pantothenic acid.”
If that doesn’t convince you to give Swiss Chard a try, I don’t know what will!
Dessert was a simple bowl of the juiciest peach EVER and blueberries.

I have had the best luck with fruit this week!

Also, for those car people out there. Here are pics of GF Guy’s new project.

He and his dad spent all day Saturday ripping out panels, flushing the breaks, and being little grease monkeys. (aka having “man time”) It still needs a bit of work, but they are both loving it! hahahaha I don’t understand boys and their toys. My personal favorite part of the car is the groovy license plate.

Chic, no?

Have a happy and healthy week!

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up…

  1. The beautiful girl and beautiful dress make another appearance. Looks like you had a great weekend. I like your Outback Steakhouse menu choices.I love cooking and eating chard. One of my favorites is canellini beans with chard leaves and stems and cooked tomatoes. Put a little chile pepper on top. Yum and easy.

  2. Yum these look delicious. πŸ™‚ Thank you for spreading the word! Harvest makes me want fall and leaves on the trees falling and cooler weather, no humidity!

  3. I agree – focus on the foods that you can eat and you'll feel great! Your recipes and meals look so yummy, so you're doing something right!!

  4. oh my god that license plate is TOO FUNNY! I would love to be the first cop who catches a glimpse of that! "chard cigars" of GF girl, i love you!

Let's Discuss!

