Slow Cookin’, Curry, and Coconut…

Every time I use my crock pot I am filled with wonder over how easy it makes life. It is like coming home to a meal cooked by someone else especially for you. LE SIGH… happiness… Last night, I prepped all the ingredients for tonight’s dinner. I just can’t handle cutting an onion at 8:00 AM. It was super simple to just through everything into the crock pot

while cooking breakfast and making lunch

before work this morning.
Breakfast: Gluten Free Oats with Cinnamon, Blueberries, and the last of the Raspberries

Lunch: Salad of Spring Mix, Broccoli, Peach and Mango Salsa, Herb-y Hummus, and Balsamic Vinegar and an Organic Gala Apple

Crockpot Classic Dinner: A Healing Curry from Karina’s Kitchen served over Brown Rice

Dessert: Homemade Strawberry Coconut Milk Ice Cream courtesy of Whole Life Nutrition

A Healing Curry was the recipe that started my healing both physically and mentally. After being diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I became afraid to cook. Something I once loved became my nemesis. Attempts to bake bread resulted in tears and crumbly “bricks/doorstops”. Classic “Katrina Recipes” were no longer an option. I was a defeated shell of my former self. I found this curry recipe and something made me try to recreate it. To my shock and awe I succeeded! This recipe was the first time after diagnosis that eating did not leave me unsatisfied and craving the glutenous foods of my past. It gave me hope and a renewed passion for cooking. To this day, I get the warm fuzzies every time I smell curry.
I broke in the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker with this fabulous, simple dairy free ice cream recipe. GF Guy declared it a success, so it must be so! I can’t wait to make up my own frozen dessert recipes. I wanted to play it safe and use an already tested recipe for my first batch. Now, I can play!
I hope you all have a wonderful Friday tomorrow. The weekend is almost here!

Giveaways: Check out An Apple A Day for a yoga lovin’ giveaway!

11 thoughts on “Slow Cookin’, Curry, and Coconut…

  1. I'm jealous of your ice-cream maker! It looks absolutely delish! It must be hard to eat with this celiac disease, bt with your ingenuity and creativity, I see you're having no prblem still enjoying your food! 😀

  2. What an awesome meal! I am so impressed by your homemade ice cream.I do not envy that you have to make special meals and avoid certain foods to feel healthy. It must have been a long, hard road to diagnosis. But I am happy that the disease is more known now and that so many gluten friendly recipes abound.Besos!

  3. What an awesome meal! I am so impressed by your homemade ice cream.I do not envy that you have to make special meals and avoid certain foods to feel healthy. It must have been a long, hard road to diagnosis. But I am happy that the disease is more known now and that so many gluten friendly recipes abound.Besos!

  4. I love my slow cooker, too. It's an absolute dream to come home from work and have dinner ready to eat. I have 2 ice cream makers and I love to make ice cream. We're not dairy-free but yours looks good. I have a friend that can't eat dairy – might have to make that for him. 🙂

  5. i need to make room in my freezer for my ice cream maker! what a tuching story about curry, i can't imagine going through that–glad you are back to doing what you love!!

Let's Discuss!

