Happy Father’s Day Dinner…

Hello Loveys! How was your Thursday? Uneventful I hope.

Well, GF Guy and I got all dressed up to celebrate something special.

Can you guess what it was?

Tonight we were finally able to celebrate Father’s Day! Everyone, except my brothe because he’s at school, met at Maggiano’s for dinner. Maggiano’s is an upscale Italian restaurant with locations all over the United States. I know what you are thinking: Katrina, how could you possibly feel comfortable eating in an Italian chain restaurant?! The answer is, because Maggiano’s is A-MAZING! That’s why! Maggiano’s staff is extremely well trained in the protocol and procedures required to accommodate diners with dietary restrictions and food allergies. The chef comes out to your table, asks you what you would like for dinner, and makes it for you. It is that simple! They have gluten free pasta, and if any of the sauces contain gluten they will make you a fresh, safe batch of sauce! Also, if you dine at none peak hours, you can bring your own breadcrumbs and dairy free cheese and they will use them to make your meal, if need be! Isn’t that awesome?! Normally, I order something that isn’t even on the menu, gluten free pasta with lots of steamed vegetables and marinara sauce. This time, however, GF Guy and I split the Chicken and Apple Salad. The portions are HUGE, splitting them is highly recommended! Our salad was comprised of grilled chicken, iceburg lettuce, arugula, chives, grapes, celery, walnuts, and blue cheese dressing.


I skipped the walnuts and dressing and drizzled my portion of salad with Balsamic Vinegar. (I ate half a bag of crackers at 1:30… oops… so I wasn’t very hungry) My older sister and her husband ordered the Rigatoni “D” with gluten free pasta.

This dish contained Rigatoni pasta, herb roasted boneless chicken, mushrooms and onions, tossed in a light Marsala cream sauce. I tried a few bites of this, but was unimpressed. It wasn’t bad. I am just a marinara sauce kind of girl. Aside from the food, we had a wonderful time filled with laughter and family stories.

I love my daddy!!!!!!!!!!!! So, for all you gluten free diners out there, Maggiano’s is a wonderful choice for a safe, gluten free meal!
After dinner, GF Guy and I hit up Berryism for some Frozen Yogurt.

I ordered a 4 oz. child size original with kiwi and raspberries. It was the perfect amount of fro-yo and only about 100 calories, including mix-ins! Yummy!

My kitchen experiment from yesterday morning doesn’t seem to be working. I’m trying to make “Oat-gurt” a la Heather. I think it’s not fermenting because I don’t have a hot plate. If the oat-gurt doesn’t ferment tonight, I am going to have to call this experiment quits. LE SIGH… Cross your fingers for me!

So far the Gluten Free Blueberry Scones are sweeping the recipe poll. Don’t forget to vote for your recipe choice by midnight tonight!

6 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day Dinner…

  1. Wow, that is great to know about Maggianos! And thank you for the banana bread recipe! I hope to whip something up this weekend if I can find time.

  2. That green looks smashing on you!I can't believe the oat-gurt isn't fermenting, especially it being so hot in FL. Are you using oat groats? Maybe put a towel over the bowel and let it sit in a window, so it gets a little more heat?Metta

Let's Discuss!

