Busy Monday…

Hello loves! Today was a wonderfully, busy day! I worked at the health food store for 9 hours and LOVED IT! I love having a job where I can use my disease to help people. I worked with a few people today who were dealing with newly diagnosed food allergies, etc… Talk about fulfilling! Le sigh…. I LOVE IT!!!!! I am so passionate about helping people adjust to new diets and helping them focus on what they can eat vs. what they can’t.
My morning started with a tiny mug of Rice Chex

and a sweaty workout in the gym. It was just soooo hot and humid outside. Seriously, the heat index was over 100 degrees here! Ridiculous! By the time I returned home and showered, I had to throw together my lunch

and 2nd breakfast to eat in the car. Breakfast #2 was FAB! Gluten Free Oatmeal (Cream Hill Estates brand) with organic raspberries, cinnamon, and a spoonful of organic, fat free, plain yogurt.


This was the best bowl of oatmeal I have ever had! Luckily, GF Guy drove me in to work today so I was able to enjoy it.
I broke for lunch around 3:30 and was quite hungry. Lunch was a salad of Green Leaf Lettuce, Spinach, and Carrots topped with Peach and Mango Salsa.


I also packed two pieces of my Homemade Sandwich Bread. I used the bread to make a little veggie sandwich with some of my salad.


DE-LICIOUS!
I arrived home from work around 9:00 and threw together a quick spaghetti dinner using Tinkyada Spinach Spaghetti noodles, Steamed Spinach and Broccoli, and Marinara Sauce topped with Nutritional Yeast.


I also sopped up the extra sauce with another piece of my bread. Dessert was a Blueberry Scone!


PERFECTION!
But enough about my food intake for the day… I have a product review!!!! Do you remember those Bakery On Main Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars I got from work the other day? Well, I finally tried them. All I have to say is, I am glad I didn’t pay for them! Seriously! They tasted like cardboard! BLEH! GF Guy said they weren’t bad, and I will probably keep them for emergencies. But, I do not recommend them.

Bakery On Main Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars


Ingredients:
Brown Rice Syrup, Crisp Rice (Rice Flour, Rice Bran, Raisin Juice Concentrate, Honey, Salt) Yellow Corn Flour, Sunflower Seeds, Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Chocolate Liquor, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin, Vanilla Extract) Ground Peanuts, Evaporated Cane Juice, Flax Seeds, Sesame Seeds, Rice Flour, Sea Salt, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor


Pros: Gluten Free, Convenient
Cons: Taste, Hard Texture, number of ingredients
The Verdict: on a scale of 1 to 5 YUMS; 1.5 YUMS Every once in a while the taste of chocolate and peanut butter would come through. For the most part, though, these granola bars tasted like cardboard. They are the type of food that give gluten free products a bad name. (Sorry to be so harsh, but it’s true.)

I will be posting a few recipes this week, so be on the lookout!
Also, Jenna at Eat Live Run is selling an awesome eCookbook, with proceeds to benefit the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. My Ciao Bella Quiche recipe is among the many delectable Weeknight Supper recipes included in the book. Please, please, please consider donating to her cause! Click here to purchase your eCookbook for only $10.00!
Until tomorrow, be happy and healthy!

7 thoughts on “Busy Monday…

  1. Wow, I'm so impressed with how much energy you have for your daily life. And your job, it really is inspiring! I LOVE your quick and easy meals especially your veggie sandwich. It's really perfect for easy veggie girl like me!!! Thanks so much for such a great idea! 🙂

  2. Your pasta dinner looks amazing!I thought the same thing about those granola bars. It is a shame! I do like their granola, though, it is very tasty!Kim

  3. blah sorry the granola bars weren't up to par! It sounds like they had such great potential. At least your scones were out of the world… they look like heaven!

Let's Discuss!

