Workin’ It Out…

Bonjour Mes Amis! Wow… another full day. Job #1 from 7:30 to 10:30. Job #3 from 11:15 to 7:30. Then I came home and cooked dinner! (That was my playtime for today!) First thing’s first: Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point has begun an amazing operation called Operation Beautiful. The premise, basically, is to leave love notes to people, including yourself, randomly, to encourage positivity and self-love. Here is my love note to myself. You Are The Picture of Health! I received this compliment the other day at work. It was, by far, the best compliment I have EVER heard. The woman who said this to me had no clue the struggles I have had with my health due to Celiacs Disease. She had no clue how I have struggled to gain weight and maintain that weight. When she said that to me, it felt like I had finally arrived! Ladies and Gentlemen… I AM FINALLY HEALTHY AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!! I am not “skinny”. I am HEALTHY!!! Thank you to that random woman. You made my day!

Now on to todays’ eats:

Breakfast #1: Strawberries (That is a picture of my Grandmother. She died when my mother was only a teenager.)

Breakfast #2: Gluten Free Oatmeal with Cinnamon, Strawberries, and a Homemade Vegan Fig Newton (I keep my baked goods wrapped, individually in the freezer. They last for months that way!… And yes… I ate a cookie for breakfast!)

Lunch at Work: Leftover Brown Rice and Chicken Stir-fry with Steamed Spinach

Snack: Ripened Raspberry Fruit Leather

Dinner: …. (Keep reading!)

Dessert: another Homemade Vegan Fig Newton

Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Risotto

(Sorry it’s not the prettiest picture. These bowls are too deep to photograph food in. Oops!)

Ingredients:

1 cup Arborio Rice
2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 tablespoons Butter or Margarine
1/2 cup Onion, chopped
2 1/2 cups Low Sodium Chicken or Vegetable Stock
1/2 cup White Wine
2 handfuls Spinach, chopped
7 Sun-Dried Tomatoes packed in oil, rinsed and chopped
Salt and Pepper
Garlic Powder
Parmesan Cheese

Over medium high heat, saute onion in oil and butter until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add rice, stirring constantly. Cook about 2 minutes. Add 1 cup of Stock and bring to a boil. Then, reduce heat to medium. Stir until liquid is absorbed. Continue adding liquids 1 cup at a time as it is absorbed by the rice. After the final cup of liquid is halfway absorbed add the spinach and tomatoes. All the while, stir constantly. Once liquid is absorbed, remove from heat and add spices to taste. Plate. Sprinkle with cheese. Serve immediately. ENJOY!

Tomorrow is Father’s Day. I would like to take this time to thank my daddy for raising me to be his little princess. He has never raised his voice at me. He was always at every one of my performances. He has always worked unbelievably long hours so my siblings and I would never have to go without. He taught me, through example, exactly what type of man to look for in a husband. He is my hero, my friend, and the best daddy a girl could ask for. Thank you, Daddy. I love you!

Giveaway Linkage: Check here for a “Big Lucky” giveaway.

7 thoughts on “Workin’ It Out…

  1. Yes, You Are The Picture of Health! You look healthy and radiant plus you have such a beautiful complexion. I really like the idea of giving love notes to people and yourself.That sounds so wonderful.Thanks for sharing the pics of all your yummy-looking food and the recipe of risotto, Mmmmm!Happy Father's Day to your dad!!! You're so lucky to have such a wonderful daddy!

  2. Hey there, Katrina! What a lovely post. So many great things here. Nice tribute to your father and a very sweet photo of you, too. Your wedding dress is stunning. And, yes, you do look like your grandmother. I'm so sorry you didn't get to meet her.Those love notes remind me of my daily The Secret calendar or the inspirational notes I get from tut.com (that my friend, Diane, told me about … and that's how I found your blog, too, via her blog … or refound it, not sure). All of us need daily love notes. "Picture of health" is a great, great compliment! Oh, and thanks for the recipe. :-)Shirley

  3. What a fantastic compliment! I love the idea of leaving reminders for ourselves, I will have to start that. Yummy looking food too – I'm drooling here! And you're very lucky to have such a great, supportive Dad.

  4. aw your operation beautiful note is so heart-warming! I'm so happy to hear you received that compliment =) happy Father's day to your pops! p.s. i ADORE your wedding dress!!! much love, girl!*Jenny

  5. You are the picture of health GFG, and not only that but gorgeous as well! This post warmed my heart, especially your grandma watching over you.I made this same risotto, stuffed it in roasted red peppers, and heated it in the oven. It was divine. (You could even heat up your leftovers that way.)

Let's Discuss!

