A Tropical Front is Blowing In…

Ladies and Gentlemen, a strong wind is blowing in from the tropics… directly into my kitchen! Last night, we had Enchiladas Tropicale. This afternoon, I created a twist on a classic with a decidedly tropical flair. But more on that later… (Yes, I’m going to make you wait!)
I bopped out of bed this morning, enjoyed a cup of coffee and some Greek yogurt with blueberries (that are on their last leg) and some scrumptious red grapes
, and headed over to the gym for some cardio. I am really starting to see some definition in my abs, which is A-MAZING! It all depends on the lighting, but it’s a start! 🙂 I ran home (literally) and made a fresh batch of Raw Almond Milk. While it was straining in the refrigerator, I showered and made Mulberry Monsters for me and the hubby. (HE DRANK ONE!!!! HE ACTUALLY DRANK A SMOOTHIE WITH SPINACH!!!!!) This morning I used 2 handfuls of spinach, frozen mixed berries, and 3/4 cup Raw Homemade Almond Milk, each.
Yummy mulberry goodness! (I would call it purple like I did yesterday, but Mulberry and Monster both start with an “M” and that makes me happy!) Not much happened this AM. The pest control man FINALLY came to check on our “ant farm”. Turns out the traps my hubby bought did the job! Bye-bye ants! The pest control man did spray just to be safe, but it looks like we’re in the clear. HOORAY!!!! I ate lunch while my “tropical creation” was in the oven (I’m getting there. Hold your horses!): a gorgeous salad comprised of :
– Red Leaf Lettuce
– Carrots
– Cucumber
– Broccoli
– Tomato
– Black Beans
– Peach and Mango Salsa
BBQ Pumpkin Hummus
– Balsamic Vinegar
Let me just tell you, this salad was the “bomb diggety”! It was a party in my mouth! The creme de la creme of salads… you get the picture. It was A-MAZING!
Now on to the recipe! Rachel, over at Coconut & Lime, is hosting an A-MAZING giveaway for a Vita-Mix Blender. To enter, you have to create a recipe utilizing her two signature ingredients, Coconut and Lime. Since all of you are aware of the slow demise of my blender, (it smokes every time I use it, seriously!) it should come as no surprise just how excited I was to find this contest! I mean, come on people, the Vita-Mix is like the Holy Grail of the blending world! I set to work concocting something original that incorporates these two ingredients. Finally, I settled on revamping my Banana Bread recipe. Behold…..

No Worries ‘Mon Banana Bread:


Ingredients:
1/3/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour
2/3 cup Sugar
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
1/4 teaspoon Salt
3 mashed ripe Bananas
1/3 cup Butter
3 tablespoons Coconut Milk
2 Eggs
3/4 teaspoon Almond Extract
1 heaping teaspoon Cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon Ground Cloves
1/4 teaspoon Ginger
1/4 cup finely shredded, unsweetened dried Coconut
1/4 cup slivered Almonds
Zest of 1 Lime

Combine 1 cup of the flour, the sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthum gum, and salt. Add mashed banana, butter, and Coconut Milk. Beat with an electric mixer (I busted out the KitchenAid) on low speed until blended, then on high speed for 2 minutes. Add remaining ingredients, including remaining flour, (except Coconut, Almonds and Lime Zest) and beat until blended. Fold in remaining ingredients. Pour into a greased loaf pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 50-60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool in pan, on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan, cool thoroughly on a wire rack. For best flavor, wrap and store overnight before slicing. (If you can wait that long!)

The Almond Extract and Lime Zest give this bread a little “zing” that really pops! My hubby, who HATES coconut, even liked it! If you are looking for a unique twist on a classic, this is the recipe for you. It could easily be adapted to Dairy and Egg free versions as well, simply substitute oil or shortening for the butter and use Egg Replacer for two eggs! Easy Peasy!

Enjoy the rest of your day! AND don’t forget to enter my HAPPY 100TH POST GIVEAWAY!!! It ends this Friday, so don’t miss your chance!

5 thoughts on “A Tropical Front is Blowing In…

  1. stilllife: Buy the whole fat canned coconut milk and dilute it with water or coconut water. That's all they due to make the light coconut milk. Plus, then you get more for your money! It's like buying 2 cans of light coconut milk for the price of 1!

Let's Discuss!

