I LOVE COOKING….

I LOVE COOKING AND I’M NOT AFRAID TO ADMIT IT! I realized today I have been holding back in the kitchen because I’ve been wanting to try eating more of a raw diet. But dang it all… I love cooking too much to give it up!
I got an early start again this morning. Oatmeal has been super dependable these past few days, so I hit it up again. The usual combo of Cream Hill Estates GF oats, blackberries, and cinnamon hit the spot. The only downside to eating oatmeal is the heat. It is HOT here people! I broke a sweat just chewing! I ran around again all morning with my little charge. She is so cute. Today I found a recipe for Chicken Soup from scratch sitting next to an apron in her room. She wants me to teach her how to make it with gluten free noodles. How cute is that?! Anyhoot…
My lunch was a delightful salad a la Shelby: Organic Green Leaf Lettuce, Broccoli, Carrots, Black Beans, Black Bean Pumpkin Hummus, and a drizzle of Balsamic Vinegar. A-MAZING! I am so glad I didn’t chuck the hummus after it exploded on me last night. My hubby ate some this afternoon with carrots. It passed the husband test!!!! YAY!!! I also ate an Organic Golden Delicious apple and cracked open a Kombucha. (I only ended up drinking a few sips. I was too full to manage any more.)
The rest of my afternoon was spent engrossed in “business” things. Do you remember me mentioning a while back how I wanted to start a Gluten Free Meal Delivery service. Well, (deep breath) I’ve started taking steps in that direction. I have been talking to a lot of people to develop a business plan. Today, I designed the first draft of my business cards! My father-in-law is going to a meeting tomorrow and asked me to bake him a loaf of my Gluten Free Banana Nut Bread to take with him. I am sending a bunch of business cards along with the bread. (baby steps, that feel like giant leaps to me!) I also baked my Gluten and Dairy Free Frosted Banana Spice Cupcakes for a birthday party tomorrow. It is such a vulnerable feeling to cook for strangers! Even though I am confident in my product it is still scary. I am excited though!
Dinner was A-MAZING!!!!!!!!! OH MY GOSH!!!!!! Seriously, I am so proud of this meal. I made Goat Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts with a White Wine Sauce and Steamed Broccoli. The recipe was from Lauren at Food For Living and was BRILLIANT and super simple. Next time I think I am going to try adding sundried tomatoes. YUM!!!!! It is the perfect meal to impress the in-laws. The hubby and I snuggled on the couch with our dinners and tuned in to So You Think You Can Dance. I LOVE that show! The dancers are so inspiring and beautiful. It makes me miss dancing….
After “my show” I was back in the kitchen prepping my kitchen experiment for tomorrow, Raw Almond Milk! Check back tomorrow to see what happens. 🙂 I also hit up the Vegan Fig Newtons I made yesterday. They are perfect straight out of the refrigerator. (these are another thing I’m glad I didn’t toss when they gave me trouble!) That’s all for now. I have a busy day tomorrow. My morning will consist of business card printing, recipe testing, web site building, and attempting to get some laundry done. I leave you with a photo of my favorite purchase from my honeymoon, our salt and pepper shakers. AWWWWWWW!!! GOODNIGHT!
PS: Check out the Sunshine Burger giveaway at Keep It Simple Foods! Can anyone say Falafel Burger?

4 thoughts on “I LOVE COOKING….

  1. Hi Katrina, I'm so glad you liked the chicken recipe – thanks for trying it out. Yours looks awesome! Your homemade vegan fig newtons look delicious as well.

Let's Discuss!

