Kitchen S.O.S….

I LOVE TEAVANA! I bought Garden Aria. Ingredients: White tea, strawberry and raspberry bits, cherries, red currants, rosehips, apples, hibiscus and beetroot bits. I can’t wait to try it. Here is what the Teavana website has to say about the health benefits of my tea:
“White tea is extremely high in antioxidants, which help to avoid certain cancers and inhibit the growth of certain cancers. White teas also strengthen your immune system, improve your metabolism, hydrate the body and skin and reduce fine lines and wrinkles, which makes you look younger. This tea is also a good dexotifier of your body. Contains 1% of the caffeine in a cup of coffee.” I think tea time is definitely in order for tomorrow afternoon.
There was a last minute change in plans, and my hubby and I ended up being on our own for dinner. We decided to be lazy and grabbed Sushi. I went with my usual Brown Rice Veggie Roll. Since we brought it home to eat, I was able to get some Bragg Liquid Aminos to use in place of soy sauce. I soon discovered I am so used to eating my sushi sans soy sauce I didn’t even need the Bragg’s! The sushi was so fresh and yummy with big pieces of cucumber. LOVES IT!!!!
I sort of went crazy in the kitchen after dinner and attempted to cook/bake up a storm. Well… a storm is what I got… more like a TORNADO! I attempted to make Shelby’s Black Bean and Pumpkin Hummus. This is what happened… The lid of my blender flew off and sent black beans and chickpeas zooming like mini torpedoes all over my newly cleaned kitchen! I was still able to salvage the hummus, and it turned out pretty good. It’s a very unique flavor. I tweaked Shelby’s recipe by adding about 1/4 cup water and a bit of EVOO. Other than that, I followed her recipe. Thanks for sharing Shelby! For some reason, I didn’t “quit while I was ahead”, and decided to try to make Gluten Free and Vegan Fig Newtons. (Yes… I am crazy…) I used Elana’s recipe but substituted Molasses for the Yacon Syrup. I don’t know what I did wrong, but my dough was very thin, even after refrigerating for 1 hour. I couldn’t roll it out like the recipe instructed. So… I improvised! I spread half the dough on a sheet of parchment paper, using my fingers to spread it. Then, I spread the fig filling (again with my fingers) lightly over the dough. Finally, I delicately layered the remaining dough on top. I baked the entire thing at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Voila! It worked! I took the pictures before cutting the Fig Newtons into individual pieces. They may not be the prettiest Newtons, but they sure are yummy! I am still in shock both of the recipes turned out. The preparation process was such a disaster! hahahaha Oh well… at least I didn’t get bored tonight! Now, I need to go crash! I have to be at work early again tomorrow. (YAWN) Good night friends!

4 thoughts on “Kitchen S.O.S….

  1. hahaha ive had some incidents like that when i attempt to bake haha… good fun though 🙂 I LOVE veggie sush! I actually had some yesterday…with brown rice of course (its crazy how excited i get when restaurants have brown rice… oh the little things in life!)

Let's Discuss!

