Graduation Galavanting…

I’M BAAAACK!!!… again… 🙂 It seems I just can’t stay in one place! We left on Thursday for my little brother’s high school graduation in Massachusetts. The entire family got to go, which is a rare occurrence. It was so much fun! I am obviously an old hat when it comes to traveling. But, this time, I knew I would only be gone a few days so I packed a bit differently. I portioned out individual servings of Laura’s Cream Hill Estates Gluten Free Rolled Oats. I also brought my own cinnamon, a measuring cup to add water to my oats, a microwave safe bowl, and my own spoon. (I’m trying to do some small part to save the world by generating less trash.) A Dr. McDougall’s Pad Thai soup also made it into the bag. These soups are perfect for traveling. You only need to add hot water!
Thursday morning, I ate an A-MAZING bowl of GF Rolled Oats with cinnamon and the last of my blackberries. Oh, oatmeal! How I have missed you! So yummy and filling. This batch of oats was so creamy and fluffy. In fact, both of the bowls I made for breakfast on the trip were, too. I guess this is just a superior box of oats. Thank you Cream Hill Estates! You rock my socks with your gluten free oatmeal goodness! Moving on… I ran around all morning getting my affairs in order and attacked my refrigerator around 12:30 for a quick lunch. I needed to eat off the leftovers before leaving. Lunch was the last of the General Tao’s Tofu served over steamed broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower. It was just as good the second time! Chinese food is always better as leftovers. It’s sort of like cold pizza for breakfast. It’s like a throwback to college! My sisters and brother in law met me and the hubby and we car pooled to the airport. Our flight was at 6:00 PM so I packed the last of the Quinoa-sotto to eat on the plane. I added a few steamed veggies to bulk it up a bit. Once again… YUMMINESS! I always feel totally dork-tastic bringing a “sack lunch” places, but am always glad in the end when I see everyone else eating nasty fast food. (Speaking of fast food, my hubby and I watched Super Size Me tonight. CR-A-ZY!… but more on that later.) We arrived at our hotel around 9:30 and hit up a local grocery store for nourishment. The whole fam crashed in my older sister’s room for a serious carrot stick and hummus nosh fest. Here we are!
Friday morning, we all piled into the car and headed to the graduation. I am so proud of my little brother! Here he is with my parents. Him and his Girlfriend The whole family again. We all went out to eat afterward at my little brother’s favorite restaurant, the 111 Chop House in Worchester, MA. We called ahead and were told they had a gluten free menu! FABULOUS! My meal was A-MAZING! I had the Swordfish with Fennel and Eggplant: Grilled Swordfish Steak served with Herb Roasted Eggplant, Grilled Asparagus, a Fennel and Saffron Sauce topped with Upland Cress and Tupelo Honey Vinaigrette. HOLY YUM, right?! For dessert, I ordered the House Sorbetto, one scoop of lemon and one of blueberry. My husband ordered the Chocolate Mousse. Both desserts were gluten free. If you are ever in Worchester, MA do yourself a favor and dine at either the 111 Chop House or their sister restaurant The Sole Proprietor. We all had a marvelous time, but I couldn’t wait to head home. I missed my apartment! Our flight home was scheduled to take off at 1:50 PM. Once again, I new I would be hungry for lunch at the airport. So, I marched my little hiney over to Starbucks and ordered a cup of hot water, poured it into my Dr. McDougall’s Pad Thai soup, and ate up! (after I spilled some on my pants, of course…) We arrived home exhausted, but it was worth it. We had a great weekend!
This morning, I hopped out of bed at 7:00 AM and trotted over to the apartment club house to use the gym. I peddled my little heart out on the recumbent bike for half an hour. Then I sprinted back to my apartment and did an ab workout with Jillian via Hulu. My workout left me feeling energized, focused, and happy all day! At 11:00, we attended church with my parents, sisters, and brother in law. Then, the hubby and I headed over to his grandparent’s house for the traditional Sunday lunch. Tita made Ropa Veija, a traditional Cuba dish. Here is my plate with a little rice, Ropa Veija, lettuce, tomato, and a little plantain. Yummy, Cuban goodness! I also had some fresh watermelon. I hadn’t had watermelon in forever. It was the perfect end to the meal. Speaking of perfect things, my hubby took my to Whole Foods after lunch. I got to use some of the coupons I won in the Gluten Hates Me But I’m Surviving giveaway. Thanks Marlow! I also bought fresh organic Dinosaur Kale and Peaches. I used the Kale for dinner tonight. I tweaked a recipe by Lindsay over at Happy Herbivore for No Pasta, Pasta. I even made the Tofu Ricotta and a Fire Roasted Tomato Marinara sauce with Sauteed Kale! I served it over steamed broccoli and sprinkled a bit of Nutritional Yeast on top for a cheesy finish. It was a delightful vegan meal I will definitely be making again. My hubby ate his Tofu Ricotta and Marinara Sauce over Quinoa Spaghetti noodles and sprinkled with a bit of freshly grated Parmesan Cheese. I just love all the colors. Don’t veggies make you happy? Dessert was an old favorite I haven’t had in FOREVER… fresh peach slices and blueberries. I’m actually getting hungry again. I’m thinking a bowl of Rice Chex are in order! CEREAL MONSTER TIME!
In other news and discussions: My older sister has recently switched all of her beauty products and toiletries to organic products. What are your thoughts on organic vs. non-organic toiletries?
In giveaway news: An Apple A Day is having her last May giveaway and boy is it a doozy! Check it out!
Ashley, over at Dancing Through Life, is also having a giveaway. Here is a hint. It involves a box!

2 thoughts on “Graduation Galavanting…

  1. I never would have thought of bringing those soups on a plane and getting hot water from Starbucks..that is an awesome idea!! I am always packing food too. Its such a pain when you’re doing it, but its almost always worth it!!

Let's Discuss!

