Vegan Stuffed Acorn Squash

Today was an idyllic Saturday…

I awoke at 7am (believe it, or not, that is sleeping in for me) and spent a glorious hour sipping my cup of French Press coffee. Then, it was off to the salon for a haircut and the tailor to have a dress altered. As I was walking out to my car, I couldn’t resist stopping by Anthropologie to try on a few of the seasons new looks. I didn’t buy anything ($148 for a crop top?!!!!), but I was sooo tempted. I am really loving the 70’s inspired lace crop tops they have this season. Instead, I got my ring cleaned and left the mall with a full pocket book on my shoulder and a sparkly ring on my finger. GF Guy was so proud!

To top off the day, I made myself a scrumptious dinner using my new cookware! My mom (who loves me) sent me the EarthPan Hard Anodized NonStick Cookware Set. It doesn’t contain any toxic chemicals and is oven safe. Let me tell you what, after years of using my Great Grandmother’s old pots these felt like heaven! If you are in the market for new pots definitely give these some consideration. THANK YOU MOM!!!!!!

Now on to the recipe! I have a serious love affair with Curry Powder and Maple Syrup. These two unlikely companions turn the simplest of meals into a Rock Star. Don’t take my word for it. Give this recipe a try!

Vegan Stuffed Acorn Squash

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 1 small Acorn Squash
  • Olive Oil
  • Maple Syrup
  • Salt & Black Pepper
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Nutmeg
  • 1/2 pint sliced Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • 1 Carrot, chopped
  • 1/4 Yellow Onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tomato, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 1 cup Baby Spinach
  • 1/3 cup cooked Great Northern White Beans
  • 1/4 tsp Curry Powder
  • 1/8 tsp Chinese Five Spice
  • 1 tsp Thyme
  • 1 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Maple Syrup
  • Black Pepper & Salt, to taste
  • 2 tsp Nutritional Yeast Flakes

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Slice squash in half and scoop out seeds and fibers. Using a fork, pierce the inside flesh of the squash a few times.
  3. Place squash skin side down in a glass baking dish. Drizzle squash with olive oil and maple syrup, and sprinkle with a bit of salt, pepper, nutmeg, rosemary, and thyme.
  4. Pour water into the baking dish around the squash, about 1/2″ deep.
  5. Place squash in the oven and roast about 25 minutes until fork tender.
  6. Meanwhile, dry roast mushrooms in a large saute’ pan over medium heat. Once mushrooms begin to release their moisture, about 7 minutes, add carrots and onion and saute until soft.
  7. Add garlic to the pan and saute about 30 seconds before adding chopped tomatoes.
  8. Add tomato paste, spinach, herbs and spices, vinegar, maple syrup, and beans, and cook until heated through and spinach is wilted.
  9. Once tender, remove squash from the oven and pour liquid gathered in the center of the squash into a measuring cup. Set aside.
  10. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F.
  11. Spoon bean mixture evenly into each squash half and top each half with 1 tsp of nutritional yeast.
  12. Drizzle reserved liquid over top squash.
  13. Add more water to the baking dish if needed and return squash to the oven to bake for 25 minutes.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Gluten-Free Wednesday.

10 thoughts on “Vegan Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. This looks so good and I just happen to have an acorn squash on the counter and some white heirloom beans in the pantry. I better get to it soon. I loose interest in squash in the summer. Um, stellar mother by the way.

  2. I really have a hard time paying full price for ANYTHING these days (let alone $147 for a shirt!!). I have been shopping at a local consignment shop for YEARS and I always get complements on wha tI wear. It’s probably saved me at least a thousand dollars over the years….
    Thanks for the squash recipe. I’m doing a vegetarian demo in our demo kitchen at work soon, and I may use this because it doesn’t include soy (many of our shoppers avoid soy, so tofu and tempeh are out!).

    • There is an amazing consignment shop near my mother’s house in FL. Some woman in the area buys the entire JCrew catalog every season, wears it once, and then takes it to the consignment shop. Coincidentally, we are the exact same size! Whenever I go down there, that shop is a MUST on my list of things to do!
      I am actually super excited that you would even consider using one of my recipes in a demo! Soy is a tricky thing. It hides in so many foods.

  3. Tasting as I am going along. I used a splash of white wine while roasting the mushrooms. I have never dry roasted them before, although I usually use just a scant amount of oil but I wanted to keep close to less fat. I just skipped the spinach and added a little more bean (I guess I did have a starch). I am roasting the squash right now but I had a hardy few tablespoons sprinkled with the nutritional yeast. I’ve never tried the yeast before and I am not sure I am crazy about it but I am going to follow through with it as directed. Maybe I will like it more in the finished dish. The stuffing is fab!!! I am trying to think of other ways to use it I like it so much. Nothing wrong with straight out of the pot though! Might have to write a post on this one dear!

    • Yay!!!! I’m so glad you like it! I agree with your addition of white wine. I would have probably added some too if I had it in the house. I have never eaten “nooch” on its own, only in place of Parmesan Cheese in recipes. I hope you like the end result.

      • Having now googled Nooch . . . I should be adding it to everything since is it loaded with B12 and I can see why it is a vegan thing! I would say it is a good substitute for Parm. People apparently love it on popcorn. In the end I am torn. I don’t think I have the flakes, I have a ground powder form. Not that that would matter in the end. I backed off on the amount I actually put on so I may not have gotten the full impact. I considered sprinkling with some breadcrumbs instead but really wanted to stay close to the recipe. Besides, I had wanted to try nutritional yeast for so long that it was a good opportunity. WHEN I make this again I could see a cheese or breadcrumb topping if I wasn’t having something else with cheese, otherwise I would probably stick with the nooch. This is going on our fall and winter list. BTW the butternut took much longer to cook but was really good! However, I couldn’t find one that was small enough for a reasonable portion. The good news, I have great left overs for the week and it is still darn cold here!

  4. Pingback: Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 4/24/12 | Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

Let's Discuss!

